22nd North Indian Ocean Hydrographic Commission (NIOHC - 22)

The 22nd meeting of the North Indian Ocean Hydrographic Commission (NIOHC - 22) took place in Yogyakarta, Indonesia from 13th to 15th February 2023 with the participation of the Chief Hydrographers, and the officials of the Member States, Associate Members, Observer countries of NIOHC, International Organizations and stakeholders.

The Officers of the Sri Lanka Navy Hydrographic Service (SLNHS) together with the Joint Chief Hydrographer to the Government of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and Chief Hydrographer to the Sri Lanka Navy RAdm KASPK Kariyapperuma have participated in the meeting virtually.

The NIOHC is the regional arm of the International Hydrographic Organization and is comprised of 10 member states including Bangladesh, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United Kingdom, and 06 Associate member states namely Australia, France, Oman, Mauritius, Seychelles, and the USA.

The main focus of the meeting was to discuss hydrographic affairs, oceanography, and nautical charting activities among its member states to way forward hydrographic services in the region and the platform has made an approach for many successful efforts to enhance cooperation and capacity building within Hydrography, Conversion from S-57 to S-100, Crowd Sourced Bathymetry, Marine Spatial Data Infrastructure, Satellite Derived Bathymetry and Marine Safety Information within the region.

As per the procedures, Indonesia handed over the chairmanship of NIOHC to Thailand and Thailand will host the succeeding NIOHC - 23 meeting in June 2024.